Governing Body – Homewood College

The governing body, as set out in the legal document the Instrument of Government, comprises  13 governors.  The total is made up from differing categories: 8 co-opted, 2 parent, one staff, one headteacher staff and one local authority.  With the exception of the headteacher, all terms are for 4 years, although a governor may resign at any time or agree in advance they will resign after a shorter period.

How are governors appointed?

Governors do have to meet certain criteria (Declaration Eligibility 2022) and be willing to abide by the Code of Conduct 2021.   The staff governor is elected by and from the staffing body.  The parent governors are elected by and from the parental body but if no one is elected then a parent of a former pupil may be appointed by the governing body.  Other parents, such as those with a child with special educational needs (SEMH) or with a child who has special educational needs and is over 18 may be appointed by the governing body in the absence of applicants from other parental categories.  Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body based on their skill set. The local authority governor is appointed by the governing body but has also been approved by a local authority panel.   Associate members (if any) are appointed by the governing body for specific roles.  They do not have a vote at full governing body meetings. 

Vacancies:  There are currently two vacancies. One in the co-opted category and one in the parent category.  The governing body would like to hear from you if you are interested in filling either of these roles.  Please contact for further information, Janet Johnson, clerk to the governing body – or or via the school office – 01273 604472

Homewood College Governing Body Governors and Register of Interests

Name, Category
Current Term
(first appointed)
Register of Interests
(date informed or commenced if not predating appointment)
Jo Adams
Staff Governor
25.9.19 – 24.9.23Employed at Homewood College
Luke Burstow
Co-opted Governor (Co-Chair of Governors, Chair of Resources Committee and Health and Safety link governor)
08.07.19 – 07.07.27Spouse of Headteacher of Downs Park School, Hove
CEO and shareholder in Ferryplus Ltd Software company
Chair of Brighton & Hove Local Access Forum
(Statutory body for BHCC)
Rachel Carter
13.07.20 – 10.07.24
Freelance Consultant, Brighton Dome and Festival (2019)
Member of Management Committee of Connected Hub and Connected PRU (1.9.22)
Nick Dry
20.02.23 – 19.2.27Retired (Headteacher in Croydon)
Claire Martin
22.9.21 – 21.9.25Teacher at Sir Robert Woodward Academy
Kasie Jeewon
16.6.21 – 15.6.25Oasis Project Transitions worker – Employee
Linda Newman
(Co-chair of Governors)
25.11.21 – 24.11.25Part-time employment with Brighton and Hove City Council as Associate Trainer
Chair of Governors – Longhill High School
Vice-Chair of Governors – Carden Primary School
Chair of Trustees, the Deans Youth Project
Director, Java Community Cafe, Woodingdean – voluntary role
Pamela Ridgwell
15.11.21 –Interim Headteacher of Homewood College, Connected Hub and Connected PRU
Rosalind Turner
20.02.23 – 19.2.27Chair of Governors at Mile Oak Primary School
Trustee Shoreham Wordfest CIO
Trustee Ropetackle Arts Centre
Ruth Turner-Murrell Parent26.1.21 – 25.1.25Independent Reviewing Officer and Child Protection Advisor
VacanciesParent Governor (1)
Co-Opted (1)
Contact School office or if you are interested in joining the team.
Sue Shanks
Local Authority
26.11.20 – 25.11.24
Trustee Brighton Youth Centre (since 2005)
Trustee Sussex Club for young people since 2015.
Councillor St Peters and North Laine Ward (may 2019)
Members of the Governing Body who have left office in the previous 12 months: None

Governing Body Work

The work of the Governing Body has three main strands:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governors are not involved in the day to day running of the school, which is managed by the School Leadership Team. Governors agree to abide by the Governors Code of Conduct 2022 More information about the role of governors is available in the Governance Handbook October 2020

From April 2018 to 1.4.22 Homewood College had connections with the Connected Hub and Connected PRU and they were all led by an Executive Headteacher.   Since then Homewood College has been led by an interim headteacher. The governing body has not delegated any of its work to committees or individual governors, although there is provision for a pay committee (remit) drawn from the governing body to fulfil its functions under the pay policy.

The governing body is led by Linda Newman and Luke Burstow as Co-Chairs of Governors.


Approved, non-confidential minutes will be published on this page for the full governing body and committee meetings from the last 3 years once they have been approved at the following meeting. Just click on the date of the meeting.  These  include details of governors’ attendance.  Non confidential agenda papers may be available upon request to

Meetings School Year 2022/23

Meetings for the year 2022/23 are all full governing body meetings: 5th October 2022; 9th November 2022; 17th November 2022; 23rd January 2023 (confidential inquorate meeting attended by Luke Burstow, Kasie Jeewon, Linda Newman and Sue Shanks) 20th February 2023; 20th March 2023; 9th May 2023; 13th June 2023 and 12th July 2023.

Meetings School Year 2021/22

Full governing body 22nd September 2021

Extraordinary governing body 10th November 2021 Governors attended: Luke Burstow, Rachel Carter, Kasie Jeewon, Claire Martin, Tim Shelley.

Full governing body 25th November 2021 Governors attended: Jo Adams, Luke Burstow, Rachel Carter, Kasie Jeewon, Claire Martin, Linda Newman (appointed in meeting), Dion Page-Hammond, Ram Ridgwell, Sue Shanks and Tim Shelley

Extraordinary Full governing body (Confidential) 6th December 2021 Governors attended: Luke Burstow, Rachel Carter, Kasie Jeewon, Linda Newman, Dion Page-Hammond, Pam Ridgwell, Sue Shanks and Tim Shelley.

Extraordinary Full governing body (Confidential) 13th December 2021 Governors attended: Jo Adams, Luke Burstow, Rachel Carter, Linda Newman, Dion Page-Hammond, Pam Ridgwell, Sue Shanks and Tim Shelley.

Full governing body 24th January 2022

Full governing body 24th February 2022

Full governing body 7th April 2022

Full governing body 13th July 2022

Meetings School Year 2020/21

Full governing body meeting minutes: 23rd September 2020 26th November 2020

22nd February 2021 24th March 2021 (Governors present 24.3.21JA LB RC LC JM SS RTM BW) 12th May 2021 16th June 2021 14th July 2021

Resources Committee: 21st October 2020

Meetings School Year 2019/20

Full governing body meeting minutes 25.9.19 21.10.19 11.12.19 20.1.20 25.2.20 23.3.20 13.5.20 9.7.20

Resources Committee meeting minutes 16.10.2019 27.11.19  4.2.2020